• School of Communication Studies
  • Lasher Hall, 43 West Union
  • Athens, Ohio 45701
  • Phone: (740) 593-4828
  • Fax: (740) 593-4810

Paul H. Boase Prize for Scholarship

Paul H. Boase was regarded as a visionary in the field of communication.  He was influential in advancing the study of interpersonal communication.  Because of his vision, the School of Interpersonal Communication at Ohio University (then called INCO) was the first academic unit to use that name.  Dr. Boase was the first director of the School, serving in that role from 1964 to 1981.  Dr. Boase died December 13, 2000.  The Boase Prize for scholarship was created to, in the words of his wife Connie, "keep his name alive" in the field.  The award is given annually to scholars who have demonstrated outstanding scholarship in any area of communication.

2013 Recipient: Dr. Kent A. Ono

Boase Prize Lecture Friday, September 13th from 10:00-11:30 AM in Baker 240. COMS faculty, graduate students, and friends are welcome to attend the lecture and a pre-lecture reception beginning at 9:30 AM.

Kent A. Ono is Professor in and Chair of the Department of Communication at the University of Utah. Professor Ono conducts critical and theoretical research of print, film, and television media, specifically focusing on representations of race, gender, sexuality, class, and nation. He has contributed articles to numerous journals and has authored, co-authored, and co-edited numerous books, including: Contemporary Media Culture and the Remnants of a Colonial Past (Peter Lang, 2009); Asian Americans and the Media with Vincent Pham (Polity 2009); and Shifting Borders: Rhetoric, Immigration, and California’s Proposition 187 with John Sloop (Temple University Press, 2002). Professor Ono founded the Asian American Cultural Politics Research Cluster at UC Davis in 1997. He wrote the proposal to create the journal, Communication and Critical/Cultural Studies. He helped propose, organize and chair the Critical and Cultural Studies Division of NCA from 2000-2001; chaired the Asian Pacific American Caucus of NCA in 1996-1997; co-chaired the Asian Pacific American Caucus of the Society for Cinema Studies (1999-2001); and has planned several conferences. Professor Ono co-edits the book series “Critical Cultural Communication” at New York University Press. He is also co-editor of the journal Critical Studies in Media Communication.

We are honored to have him receive this prize.

More information about Dr. Ono can be found at his faculty page.


Past Recipients:

  • 2012 Dr. Patrice Buzzanell
  • 2011 Dr. Brenda Allen
  • 2010 Dr. Barbara Sharf
  • 2009 Dr. David Seibold
  • 2008 Dr. Bonnie J. Dow
  • 2007 Dr. Carole Blair
  • 2006 Drs. Robert Hariman and John Lucaites
  • 2005 Dr. Gerry Philipsen
  • 2004 Dr. Martin Medhurst
  • 2003 Dr. James Andrews (inaugural recipient).